Home > Linux > Gentoo on Hyper-V

Gentoo on Hyper-V

I’ve spent the past couple of days installing Gentoo on Microsoft Hyper-V.

For Hyper-V, you have to select the Legacy Network card. I spent an afternoon trying to lspci, lsmod, and modprobe without any luck until I switched over to the legacy network card option. See this link for details:

http://blogs.msdn.com/virtual_pc_guy/archive/2007/12/31/installing-fedora-core-8-on-hyper-v.aspx

After finishing the install process, I rebooted the box, only to encounter a bunch of kernel panic messages. It’s been a couple of years since I install a fresh Gentoo box, I guess their kernel is now slimmer, because I didn’t include several options in my .config file.

Error
VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block
VFS: Cannot open root device “303: or unknow-block(3,3)
Please append a correct “root=” boot option;

Device Drivers —>
ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support —>
ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support
Enhanced IDE/MFM/RLL disk/cdrom/tape/floppy support
Include IDE/ATA-2 DISK support
[*] Use multi-mode by default
Include IDE/ATAPI CDROM support
generic/default IDE chipset support
[*] CMD640 chipset bugfix/support
[*] PCI IDE chipset support
[*] Sharing PCI IDE interrupts support
Generic PCI IDE Chipset Support
RZ1000 chipset bugfix/support
[*] Generic PCI bus-master DMA support
[*] Use PCI DMA by default when available
Intel PIIXn chipsets support

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-497930-highlight-.html

Error
error initializing udevd socket
Letting udev process events…

Enabling UNIX DOMAIN SOCKETS under NETWORK DEVICES fixed that problem.

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-3432045.html#3432045

I also got this error:
fsck.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/hda3

Apparently I formated my / as ext2, after changing /etc/fstab to ext2, I was able to boot into the system. But I wanted the features of ext3, so I had reinstall the system, which isn’t too bad once you figure out all the kinks.

Error
Finally, my network card was recognize as eth0, but it couldn’t optain a IP address. Enabling TCP Support IPv4 under the Network section fixed that problem.

Categories: Linux
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment